Tags

, , , , ,

image

Thought for today:Mon. 11/17
PRAYERA Pause for Power
When my heart is overwhelmed I ask the Lord to “lead me to the Rock that is higher than I” am. When I am grateful and desire to offer a prayer of thanksgiving for all the Lord has done for me and for others, I pray. When I am feeling unworthy because of daily intricacies we call LIFE, I pray. Because I, even I, have moments when words escape me and I cannot verbalize my needs, I meditate and focus on my Saviour’s voice. As I wait in silent meditation, the Holy Spirit speaks for me and to me. It is the Holy Spirit that knows the mind of God and speaks life and power to my soul. As believers, we are not left to your own resources; or vices for that matter. We are benefactors of Christ’s promise, “…but I will send a Comforter,” that we might receive help. When we pray for our Helper (the Comforter, the Holy Spirit) to cope with problems, we are endued with power. God is a gentleman and will not force Himself on us, but sweetly speaks to our mind, spirit and soul. I’ve heard many people say they do not know how to pray or they do not have the words to pray right. The beauty of our Creator is His love for us. His Word instructs us to pray as Jesus taught the disciples, “Our Father, who art in heaven. Hallowed be thy Name. Thy Kingdom come. Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive  those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory for ever and ever, Amen.” That’s good news!  We may not know how to pray or know the right words to pray, but as we kneel in humble submission with a contrite  heart, the Holy Spirit speaks with us and prays (intercedes) for us, and God answers. With God helping us pray, we needn’t be afraid to come before Him. Ask the Holy Spirit to intercede for you “in harmony with God’s own will.” Then, when you bring your requests to God, trust that he will always do what is best, according to His will.
Reading for today:
Romans 8:26-27

Posted by Rev. Bonita A. Benson

